DAVID BRENT & FOREGONE CONCLUSION set to release album ‘LIFE ON THE ROAD’ + play 2 x London Hammersmith Apollo live shows

DAVID BRENT & FOREGONE CONCLUSION set to release album 'LIFE ON THE ROAD'  + play 2 x London Hammersmith Apollo live shows

Life On The Road is the debut album by David Brent & Foregone Conclusion, available on CD, LP (12- inch vinyl), and digital download from August 19th, and available to pre-order from July 1st.

David Brent is the character created and made world-famous by Ricky Gervais as part of his ground breaking, award winning BBC2 comedy ‘The Office’. The album is released in conjunction with the original motion picture David Brent: Life On The Road, released in cinemas by Entertainment One on August 19th.

The first track available from the album is Lady Gypsy – a folk ballad which tells the story of Brent losing his virginity – available now as an instant grat with album pre-orders, along with tickets to the movie.

David Brent & Foregone Conclusion will be playing two live shows at London’s Hammersmith Apollo on Thursday 8th & Friday 9th September 2016.

Directed, written by & starring Gervais, David Brent: Life On The Road sees a documentary crew catching up with David Brent twelve years on from ‘The Office’. Brent is now a travelling salesman, chasing his dream of rock stardom by self-financing a UK tour with his band, ‘Foregone Conclusion’. The accompanying album Life On The Road includes songs composed by Gervais especially for the film and songs already familiar to fans including Free Love Freeway, Paris Nights, Spaceman and Equality Street.

Produced by Gervais and Andy Burrows – a successful recording artist under his own name and formerly of Razorlight – Life On The Road was recorded and mixed at Air Edel Studios in London by Nick Taylor.

“Even though the songs are funny in context, they’re not comedy songs as such,” says Gervais. “David Brent doesn’t think they’re funny. He thinks they’re important. And actually they’re not terrible songs. And they’re insanely catchy. But the tragedy comes from the fact that a 55 year old tampon rep is singing rock songs about travelling across America picking up Señoritas or trying to end racism in reggae songs while singing with a Jamaican accent. He’s also paid for the best musicians and studio time out of his own hard earned cash and pension.”

“You have to have a real knowledge and love of rock music to be able to spoof it as well as Ricky,” adds Burrows. “He’s an excellent songwriter, and these are really good songs. They’re also hilarious. Combining the two is much, much harder than he makes it appear.”

David Brent Life On The Road, album tracklisting:

1. Ooh La La
2. Native American
3. Lonely Cowboy
4. Free Love Freeway
5. Life On The Road
6. Slough
7. Thank F*ck It’s Friday
8. Lady Gypsy
9. Please Don’t Make Fun Of The Disableds
10. Paris Nights
11. Don’t Cry It’s Christmas
12. Spaceman
13. Equality Street
14. Ain’t No Trouble
15. Electricity

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.