AFRICA EXPRESS share new track, ‘MAMA’ - Listen Now

AFRICA EXPRESS share new track, ‘MAMA’ - Listen Now

Mama, the fifth track taken from Africa Express’ forthcoming studio album EGOLI is available now, listen below. Mama is a Shangaan inspired electro track featuring Acholitronix pioneer Otim Aplha; producer and songwriter Georgia; and funk duo Radio 123, written and recorded in Johannesburg last year.

One of the highlights of making EGOLI was working with and getting to know Otim Alpha. He has become such a close friend. I was utterly blown away by Otim’s talents. To be honest, he is one of the most talented musicians I have ever come in contact with. When we came together, ‘Mama’ poured out of us in an afternoon; it was so special, one of those moments you can’t really describe. Magical actually. Otim’s music is amazing, Uganda is amazing and the projects he is involved in are a testament to basically everyone wanting to work with him. I hope you enjoy our song” – Georgia

To capture the essence of celebration in such a tight turnaround we had to really take the music to the next level. Georgia and myself found common ground in that, like all other artists, we sing types of songs that are already on the ground. She’s now like a sister to me - an amazing producer with a lovely voice” - Otim Alpha

Listen to 'Mama' - BELOW:

Music collective Africa Express travelled to South Africa in January 2018 to complete an electronic album in just 7 days, a week of discovery, collaboration and music-making. The result is EGOLI – 18 tracks capturing the fresh, joyous sounds of Afro Futurism, straight out of Johannesburg. Featured artists include Damon Albarn, Blue May, Gruff Rhys, Georgia, Ghetts, Mr JukesNick Zinner, Remi Kabaka, Otim Alpha and Poté as well as emerging and established stars of the buzzing South African music scene including BCUC, Blk JksDominowe, Faka, Infamous Boiz, DJ Spoko, Mahotella Queens, Moonchild Sanelly, MuziMorena Leraba, Nonku Phiri, Radio 123, Sibot, Sho Madjozi, Zola 7, Zolani Mahola (Freshly Ground) and Maskandi guitar legend Phuzekhemisi.


EGOLI will be available on CD, vinyl and digital download on 12th July 2019, via newly created Africa Express Records - Watch the album trailer below:


The track listing for EGOLI is:

1. Welcome
Africa Express ft. Phuzekhemisi
2. City In Lights
Africa Express ft. Georgia, Mahotella Queens, Otim Alpha, Nick Zinner
3. The River
Africa Express ft. Muzi, Zola 7, Mahotella Queens
4. Bittersweet Escape
Africa Express ft. Mr Jukes, Nonku Phiri, BCUC
5. Johannesburg
Africa Express ft. Sibot, Gruff Rhys, Morena Leraba, Radio 123
6. Become The Tiger
Africa Express ft. Sibot, Damon Albarn, Mr Jukes
7. Africa To The World
Africa Express ft. Infamous Boiz, Dominowe, Otim Alpha, Mahotella Queens, Nick Zinner, Remi Kabaka, Radio 123
8. Absolutely Everything Is Pointing Towards The Light
Africa Express ft. Gruff Rhys, Zolani Mahola
9. Where Will This Lead Us To?
Africa Express ft. Moonchild Sanelly, Radio 123, Blue May
10. Mama  
Africa Express ft. Otim Alpha, Georgia, Radio 123
11. No Games
Africa Express ft. Sho Madjozi, Poté, Moonchild Sanelly, Ghetts, Muzi, Radio 123
12. Morals
Africa Express ft. Moonchild Sanelly, Mahotella Queens, Muzi, Mr Jukes
13. Taranau
Africa Express ft. Otim Alpha, Gruff Rhys
14. The Return Of Bacardi
Africa Express ft. DJ Spoko, FAKA
15. Sizi Freaks
Africa Express ft. Infamous Boiz, Moonchild Sanelly
16. Twirl
Africa Express ft. Ghetts, Poté
17. I Can't Move
Africa Express ft. Damon Albarn, Moonchild Sanelly, Mr Jukes, Sibot, Blue May
18. See The World

Africa Express ft. Mahotella Queens, Damon Albarn, Gruff Rhys

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.