A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS announce new album 'See Through You' - Watch video for first single 'Let’s See Each Other'

A Place To Bury Strangers
Photo by Ebru Yildiz

A Place To Bury Strangers announces the release of their sixth album 'See Through You' on 4th February 2022. It’s not just a return to form for the band, but also a return to their fiercely independent, DIY roots on their own label, Dedstrange.

Outpacing even their own firmly blazed path of audio annihilation, this 13-track album repeatedly delivers the massive walls of chaos and noise that A Place To Bury Strangers are renowned for. It’s an explosive journey that explores the listener’s limits of mind-bending madness, while simultaneously offering the catchiest batch of songs in the band’s discography. It’s a nod to the art school ethos of the band’s origins while forging a new and clear direction forward.

The first single 'Let’s See Each Other' is an intimate and disarming love song from a forgotten future. Syncopated memories and deconstructed fantasies of lovers lost in a city that doesn't know their names. The accompanying video, directed by David Pelletier, features the band destroying the song while imploring people to reunite.

A Place To Bury Stranger’s Oliver Ackermann always brings surprises. The singer and guitarist has been delighting and astonishing audiences for close to two decades, combining post-punk, noise-rock, shoegaze, psychedelia, and avant-garde music in startling and unexpected ways. As the founder of Death By Audio, creator of signal-scrambling stompboxes and visionary instrument effects, he’s exported that excitement and invention to other artists who plug into his gear and blow minds. In concert, A Place To Bury Strangers is nothing short of astounding — a shamanistic experience that bathes listeners in glorious sound, crazed left turns, transcendent vibrations, real-time experiments, brilliant breakthroughs.

Watch the video for 'Let’s See Each Other' - BELOW:

And just as many of his peers in the New York City underground seem to be slowing down, Ackermann’s creativity is accelerating. He’s launched his own label – Dedstrange – dedicated to advancing the work of sonic renegades worldwide. He’s also refreshed the group’s line-up, adding Ceremony East Coast’s John Fedowitz on bass and Sandra Fedowitz on drums. Ackermann and John Fedowitz are childhood friends who played together in the legendary Skywave, and the band has never sounded more current, more courageous, or more accessible. 2021’s Hologram EP was the first release from the new line-up – and the first on Dedstrange – and the reaction was ecstatic, with Pitchfork saying that Ackermann had “transcended his gearhead tendencies, gracefully navigating fuzz and feedback loops as well as melodies and hooks”. 'See Through You' pushes things even further. Simply put, it’s an epic, instant classic.

'SEE THROUGH YOU' TRACKLISTING

1. Nice Of You To Be There For Me
2. I’m Hurt
3. Let’s See Each Other
4. So Low
5. Dragged In A Hole
6. Ringing Bells
7. I Disappear (When You’re Near)
8. Anyone But You
9. My Head Is Bleeding
10. Broken
11. Hold On Tight
12. I Don’t Know How You Do It
13. Love Reaches Out

A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS 2022 UK/EUROPEAN TOUR DATES - TICKETS ON SALE HERE

Wed 09 March - Hafenklang - Hamburg, Germany
Thu 10 March - Beatpol - Dresden, Germany
Fri 11 March - Klub Poglos - Warsaw, Poland
Sat 12 March - Futurum - Prague, Czech Republic
Sun 13 March - Randal Club - Bratislava, Slovakia
Mon 14 March - Durer Kert - Budapest, Hungary
Wed 16 March - Control Club - Bucharest, Romania
Thu 17 March - Mixtape5 - Sofia, Bulgaria
Fri 18 March - Eightball - Thessaloniki, Greece
Sat 19 March - Temple - Athens, Greece
Mon 21 March - 25th of May Hall - Skopje, Macedonia
Tue 22 March - Club Drugstore - Belgrade, Serbia
Thu 24 March - Mochvara - Zagreb, Croatia
Fri 25 March - Freakout Club - Bologna, Italy
Sat 26 March - Largo - Rome, Italy
Sun 27 March - Legend Club - Milan, Italy
Tue 29 March - Bogen F - Zurich, Switzeralnd
Wed 30 March - Backstage - Munich, Germany
Thu 31 March - Caves Du Memoir - Martigny, Switzeralnd
Fri 01 April - La Trabendo - Paris, France
Sat 02 April - Lafayette - London, UK
Mon 04 April - Kayka - Antwerp, Belgium
Tue 05 April - Gleis 22 - Munster, Germany
Wed 06 April - Melkweg - Amsterdam, Netherlands
Thu 07 April - Vera- Groningen, Netherlands
Sat 09 April - Hus 7 - Stockholm, Sweden
Sun 10 April - John Dee - Oslo, Norway
Mon 11 April - Pumpehuset - Copenhagen, Denmark
Tue 12 April Hole 44 - Berlin, Germany
Wed 13 April - MTC - Cologne, Germany

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*