VIDEO PREMIERE: Sun Atoms – The Cat’s Eye

VIDEO PREMIERE: Sun Atoms - The Cat’s Eye
Credit: Heather Boyd

SUN ATOMS returns with the new single: “The Cat’s Eye”. A strung-out, psychedelic wonder, the track finds the alias of Jsun Atoms (The Upsidedown, Daydream Machine) joined by special guest appearances from the singular Alex Maas (The Black Angels) and Jasno Swarez (The Vandelles).

“The Cat’s Eye” is the second single to emerge from Sun Atoms’ upcoming full-length LP ‘Let There Be Light’, out 1st October 2021, via The Acid Test Recordings label in Europe and Little Cloud Records in the USA.

“The Cat’s Eye” arrives with stunning visual accompaniment directed by Rome, Italy’s award-winning filmmaker Susanna Della Sala (The Fish Doctor, Neolovismo).

Ebbing and flowing like Love and Rockets under a Spiritualized raga; the spirit of Bowie’s classic “Moonage Daydream” echoes through the track’s astral fabric. Interweaving superlative contributions from the likes of The Black Angels’ Alex Maas (who adds his captivating vocal depth and haunting mellotron arrangements), plus The Vandelles’ Jasno Swarez (backing vocals, guitars) and the expert percussive patter of drummer Gregg Williams (Sheryl Crow) on hand drums and congas; its nuanced arrangements align in heavenly constellation around Atoms’ cosmic vision.

Maas and Atoms, who first met while supporting Black Rebel Motorcycle Club in 2007 and whose paths have continued to cross ever since, have prolifically exchanged musical ideas with one another over the years. While “The Cat’s Eye” only sees its official release in 2021, the track has been something of a labour of love between the two for some time. As Atoms says of collaborating with Maas on the track:

“Alex and I have shared early versions of songs with each other over the years. When Alex sent me some mixes of his critically acclaimed solo album “Luca“, I reciprocated with some early Sun Atoms mixes and he replied that he loved “The Cat’s Eye” and had some ideas for it. We were taking a break from mixing because Gorillaz were using Stephen Street’s studio in London and when we came back to mix, Alex had sent this beautiful vocal chorus which worked well with Pete’s “Here Come The Warm Jets” guitar freak out. Alex said that the song was begging for the Mellotron flute lead which definitely took the song to a new level.”

Watch the video for ‘The Cat’s Eye’ – BELOW:

“The Cat’s Eye” is the latest track to be cut from Sun Atoms’ explorative new project, ‘Let There Be Light’. Produced by The Dandy Warhols’ guitar pedal maestro Peter Holmström (Pete International Airport, The Dandy Warhols) and mixed by London’s legendary Stephen Street (Blur, The Smiths, New Order), first-rate guest performances scattered throughout the record also include The Black Angels’ Alex Maas, the leader of Brooklyn’s The Vandelles: Jasno Swarez, St. Louis beat boss drummer Bob Mild, esteemed session player Gregg Williams (Sheryl Crow, Blitzen Trapper), and Sacramento punks Pets, to name a few.

8 tracks that loosely revolve around the star that blazes at the middle of the solar system; ‘Let There Be Light’ merges styles, sounds and genres with a nuclear kind of fusion. Citing luminary influences such as Moon Duo, The Cure, Nick Cave, Love and Rockets, Spiritualized, and Leonard Cohen; the result is a record that burns with a cosmic radiance, quite content to defy the rules of the universe.

22-26 Sept. – TreeFort Festival (w/ Built To Spill, Calexico, Mdou Moctar) – INFO
22nd Oct – Star Theater,  Portland (with The Prids & Nate Wey and the Dreamers) – TICKETS
23rd Oct – Lofi Performance Gallery, Seattle (with The Prids & Fotoform)
  1. The Cat’s Eye
  2. Half Robot Half Butterfly
  3. Captain Tunnel Vision
  4. Don’t Take Me To Your Leader
  5. Super Switch Kid
  6. Fell For You
  7. Two Wolves and a Lamb Voted on What’s For Dinner
  8. Praying Mantis
Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.