ULTRAÍSTA Announce ‘Ordinary Boy – The Remixes’ EP out 6th November

ULTRAÍSTA Announce 'Ordinary Boy - The Remixes' EP out 6th November 1

Ultraísta – vocalist/producer Laura Bettinson (FEMME / lau.ra), multi-instrumentalist/producer Nigel Godrich (Radiohead) and drummer/producer Joey Waronker (Beck, R.E.M) – have detailed their upcoming EP, ‘Ordinary Boy – The Remixes’.

The collection will be out November 6th via Partisan Records and features new remixes from Floating Points, plus FaltyDL, Zero 7, Crate Classics and Leifur James, with the digital version, also featuring a bonus remix from The Cinematic Orchestra. Listen to the Floating Points remix here, and feel free to share. Bettinson says of the remix: “It was love at first listen. I don’t know what I was expecting but it certainly wasn’t that outrageous drop. Bouncy banger.”

“Ordinary Boy” is the hypnotic and propulsive highlight from ‘Sister,’ the trio’s first album of new music in eight years, which was released to critical acclaim this March. Today, Ultraísta have also shared the official music video for the album version of the song, directed by Godrich. Watch below.

‘Sister’ grew out of several years of sporadic improv sessions, with Godrich ultimately piecing everything together at his London studio space. The album is a cinematic sci-fi soundscape that’s both exhilarating and laser-focused. Behind Bettinson’s warm, inviting vocal delivery and anchored by Waronker’s sophisticated percussion work, ‘Sister’ easily stands tall among the impressive and extensive career resumes of each bandmember. Earlier this year the album landed spotlights with NPR Music (Top Songs of January), Rolling Stone, Pitchfork, Fader, Cool Hunting, Hypebeast, Stereogum + more. In August, the band also gave a unique virtual reality performance for Crack Magazine, watch that here.

‘Ordinary Boy - The Remixes’

‘Ordinary Boy – The Remixes’ tracklist:
12″ version:
Side A
1. Ordinary Boy – Floating Points Remix
2. Ordinary Boy – FaltyDL Remix

Side B
1. Ordinary Boy – Zero 7 Remix
2. Ordinary Boy – Crate Classics Remix
3. Ordinary Boy – Leifur James Remix

Digital version:
1. Ordinary Boy – Floating Points Remix
2. Ordinary Boy – The Cinematic Orchestra Remix
3. Ordinary Boy – FaltyDL Remix
4. Ordinary Boy – Zero 7 Remix
5. Ordinary Boy – Crate Classics Remix
6. Ordinary Boy – Leifur James Remix

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.