TRACK OF THE DAY: DEMOB HAPPY – ‘Wash It Down’ – Listen

TRACK OF THE DAY: DEMOB HAPPY - 'Wash It Down' - Listen

Following their critically acclaimed ‘Succubus’ single and Young & Numb EP, Brighton’s rising garage rock force Demob Happy assert themselves as one of the UK’s most exciting new bands with ‘Wash It Down’, the roaring first single to be taken from their forthcoming debut album. Speaking of his inspirations for ‘Wash It Down’, frontman Matt Marcantonio adds,

“Our musicians used to give a shit about the working class because they were working class. Now all we get is trust fund rockers who don’t wanna upset daddy’s profits. It’s become too difficult to talk about change and navigate the ‘fuck the government’ cliché minefield without sounding like a dick.

Shit punk and bad reggae turned protest songs into a tactless embarrassment. That crap makes my skin crawl, it’s a waste of good intention. So instead we get faux sentimental recycled denial pop because most musicians don’t wanna risk upsetting someone, or their lives are already too cushy to care, so it’s left up to our pampered MPs and prostitute ‘experts’ to peddle the same old elite favouring bullshit.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Apathy has been encouraged. The working class has been conditioned to shut up and censor themselves with first school style clever kid resent. The market demands lowest common denominator weekend-lifestyle yolo garbage pop. We’re not really into in all that.”

Produced by the band and their long-time studio aide Christoph Skirl, ‘Wash It Down’ was recorded in A=432hz for maximum auditory gratification and vibratory entrainment, before turning to Anthony Theaker (Pulled Apart By Horses, The Horrors, Toy) for mixing duties. The band will release ‘Wash It Down’ this August 14th via SO Recordings as the first single from their forthcoming debut album, due later this year.


Demob Happy are: Matt Marcantonio (lead vocals, bass), Mathew Renforth (guitar, backing vocals), Adam Godfrey (guitar, backing vocals) and Thomas Armstrong (drums and vocals).

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.