THE NIX share the video to ‘The Drop’ feat. Khloe Anna

THE NIX share the video to ‘The Drop’ feat. Khloe Anna

The Nix, a loose collection of uniquely talented musicians corralled together by Nick McCarthy (ex Franz Ferdinand) and Seb Kellig around their Sausage Studio in east London have today shared the video for The Drop.

Premiered this morning on Lauren Laverne’s 6 Music show and featuring vocalist Khloe Anna, the track is accompanied by an amazing animated video directed by Alex Futtersack and Haoyan of America Talking about track and the video, Nick said:

The Drop is one of my favourite songs on the album. A collaboration with Khloe Anna who in my opinion is one of the coolest singers to come out of London right now. Recorded and mixed at Sausage Studios with Seb Kellig, with a great helping hand from Phil Vinyl. It has a magic flow to it.

The video by Haoyan of America and Alex Futtersack, famous for the video for Crumb-Locket video and for his amazing Jellyfishing in America docs, is a total trip which features Seb and myself travelling into a surreal and psychedelic digital world and was done on Covid’s terms. Sending our scanned selves backwards and forwards to New York was a new way to travel for sure. Enjoy the trip.

Haoyan of America, the director of the video added:

Inspired by Nick and Seb’s encounters with good/inclusive vibes at dub night outings, Alex and I wish to transport viewers on a virtual journey that captures a byte of that essence: to go somewhere new and strange while feeling welcomed and a part of something greater than one’s self. The Drop also serves as a small homage to what it felt like to first go online and surf the world-wide-web in the 1990s.

Watch the video for ‘The Drop’ – BELOW:

The track is the latest to be taken from their debut album, Sausage Studio Sessions which is released on Moshi Moshi Records on Friday 30th October 2020.

Featuring, amongst others, Laetitia Sadier, KT Tunstall and Basement Jaxx vocalist Vula Malinga, the album was recorded in Sausage Studios, Hackney, Nick’s studio he set up with his old friend and talented musician/producer Seb Kellig with the intention of writing and recording music in a way they wanted and worked for them. As Nick explains:

So this is an album I always had in mind to record after leaving Franz Ferdinand. I wanted to make something that felt at the same time like a farewell and a new start party incorporating all the amazing musicians and people I’ve met around the world.

I wanted the record to have the same ethos as the parties I used to organise growing up in Munich and Glasgow, so with this in mind myself and Seb Kellig, one of my best friends and a great musician and producer, set up Sausage Studios in Hackney Lane

Our studio is open 24 hours, musicians and singers would show up and each song was written collectively and very spontaneously with the artists and the whole record was recorded with a backing band, Motown style on party nights. Seb worked his dub production magic and ‘boom’ the record was finished.

Like so many things in my life, it all started out as a protest record. There are definitely still some arseholes out there who need to be stopped but now the virus has hit. Like any other real party, we’re all in this together. And we’ll get over this together.

The tracklisting of the album is as follows:

1. Shoemonk (feat. Vula Malinga)
2. The Highest (feat. Kwamie Liv)
3. The Drop (feat. Khloe Anna)
4. Colours (feat. Vito Skye, Valentina Skye & Andy Knowles)
5. Valentina (feat. Khloe Anna)
6. Don’t Roll Your Eyes At Me (feat. David Aird)
7. Until Now, All Is Well (feat. Laetitia Sadier)
8. Nix (feat. Nix Sana’a Sylvester Gonputh-Kellig)
9. The Strangest Thing (feat. KT Tunstall)
10. Full Fathom Five (feat. Philipp Plessmann)
11. Loose Noose (feat. Andy Knowles & Vula Malinga)
12. Hyena (feat. Manuela Gerdenel)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast.Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.