THE LATHUMS share their latest single - 'How Beautiful Life Can Be'

The Lathums

Life’s simple pleasures and long, summer days of youth radiate their warmth over The Lathums’ latest single, How Beautiful Life Can Be, released on Island Records. Blowing in on an optimistic breeze, the track finds literary frontman, Alex Moore inspired by sunshine and bright blue skies to sow the seeds of his band’s latest over-too-soon, tumbling stream of upbeat melody.

Accompanying the single is a specially-recorded, Live From Parr Street version of the single, performed in one, impressive take to show just what the band and fans have been missing over the last year – the thrill of The Lathums switched-on, plugged-in and setting their music free.

Equal parts phenomenon and mystery, the young four-piece somehow channel the same rebellious nature of 80s indie, when upstarts with guitars met the decade’s preening pop stars head-on with little more than extended chords and whip smart, real life lyrics. How Beautiful Life Can Be is a gleaming, Walkman-era treasure updated for summer 2021, founding an island of The Lathums’ own in a British indie-pop archipelago populated by The Smiths, Arctic Monkeys and The Housemartins.

Now primed to take summer head-on after performing for 5,000 people at Sefton Park, Liverpool at the start of May, the song’s origins lie in the sweltering springtime of 2020 when the music stopped completely. Moore, at an old-before-his-time 20-years old, burst through the lockdown blues to see what might be round the corner and sang How Beautiful Life Can Be for the first time in his back garden. Now The Lathums’ impromptu clarion call to freedom and to savour every moment is made public, and not a moment too soon.

He says: “Our saddest and loneliest moments can lead to our happiest and most content because we have felt what it is to be down there looking up. It feels like now is the time to appreciate all of the things, big and small, that we’ve missed the most.”

Watch The Lathums perform 'How Beautiful Life Can Be' - BELOW:

Having been part of the momentous test event on Merseyside two months ago, the popular band from Wigan on the outskirts of Greater Manchester power on to play a string of high-profile festival dates, including debut appearances at TRNSMT, Glasgow and Tramlines, Sheffield, during the summer months. Completed by multi-instrumentalist Scott Concepcion, swinging his Rickenbacker in the mould of Johnny Marr and the ever-reliable rhythm section of Jonny Cunliffe on bass and Ryan Durrans on drums, The Lathums also look ahead to a rescheduled, expanded and upgraded UK Tour for autumn and winter 2021.

A huge SOLD-OUT return to the North West awaits them at Manchester’s O2 Victoria Warehouse, with limited tickets remaining for landmark shows at Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom and London’s O2 Forum Kentish Town.

The full list of The Lathums 2021 UK Headline Tour dates and confirmed festival appearances are as follows:

Sat 24 Jul Sheffield, Tramlines
Fri 30 Jul Pikehall, Y Not Festival
Sat 28 Aug Portsmouth, Victorious Festival
Sun 5 Sep Warrington, Neighbourhood Weekender
Fri 10 Sep Glasgow, TRNSMT 2021
Sun 26 Sep Manchester, Castlefield Bowl – w/Snow Patrol
Wed 29 Sep Newcastle, O2 Academy*
Thu 30 Sep Birmingham, O2 Institute*
Sat 2 Oct Nottingham, Rock City*
Sat 3 Oct Liverpool, Sound City
Mon 4 Oct Cambridge, Junction
Tue 5 Oct Brighton, Concorde
Thu 7 Oct London, O2 Forum Kentish Town*
Fri 8 Oct Southampton, The 1865
Sat 9 Oct Bristol, SWX
Mon 11 Oct Sheffield, O2 Academy*
Tue 12 Oct Leeds, O2 Academy*
Thu 14 Oct Glasgow, Barrowland Ballroom*
Sat 16 Oct Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse* SOLD OUT
Fri 12 Nov Hull, Social - SOLD OUT^
Sun 14 Nov Leicester, O2 Academy 2 - SOLD OUT^
Mon 15 Nov Stoke, Sugarmill - SOLD OUT^
Tue 16 Nov Cardiff, Globe SOLD OUT^
Wed 17 Nov Oxford O2 Academy 2 - SOLD OUT^
Fri 3 Dec Dunfermline, PJ Molloys - SOLD OUT^
Sat 4 Dec Dundee, Fat Sam's^
Mon 6 Dec Aberdeen, The Lemon Tree - SOLD OUT^
Tue 7 Dec Edinburgh, The Liquid Room - SOLD OUT^
*Upgraded and Rescheduled Dates
^Rescheduled Dates

Tickets for all venues sold via www.gigsandtours.comwww.ticketmaster.co.uk and www.thelathums.comAll previously purchased tickets remain valid for rescheduled dates.

The Lathums also pick up rearranged arena tour dates with Blossoms and accept the invitation from Paul Weller to open his UK-wide run of shows later this year.

Having completed their debut album at Parr Street, produced by The Coral’s James Skelly, the band looks forward to revealing more new music before hitting the road.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*