THE CORAL announce headline UK tour, October 2018

THE CORAL announce new album 'Move Through The Dawn' to be released August 17th

Having recently supported Manic Street Preachers on their Arena tour, The Coral announce a UK headline tour in October following the release of their new album ‘Move Through The Dawn’. The influential Hoylake band’s first headline tour for two years will start in Newcastle and take in London’s Koko before culminating at Manchester Albert Hall on October 13th. Supporting on all dates comes from She Drew The Gun, the acclaimed Liverpool quartet signed to Coral frontman James Skelly’s Skeleton Key label.

The Coral will also be appearing at festivals throughout the summer and will be celebrating the release of ‘Move Through The Dawn’ by hosting the Skeleton Coast Festival at Leasowe Castle, Wirral, on Saturday, September 1st. Joining The Coral, who headlines, will be Tim Burgess, Fuzzy Sun – the first signing to Blossoms new label Very Clever - plus Skeleton Key Records artists including The Fernweh, Marvin Powell and Cut Glass Kings.

The first single to be taken from ‘Move Through The Dawn’ is the BBC 6Music playlisted single ‘Sweet Release’ - available now to stream, download and as instant grat with album pre-orders.

Featuring a synchronized routine by a boiler-suited, paper bag hat-wearing dance troupe, the video for ‘Sweet Release’ continues The Coral’s tradition for visually exciting and wryly amusing promos. Watch it - BELOW:

‘Move Through The Dawn’ was recorded at Parr Street Studios in Liverpool and produced by The Coral and Rich Turvey. The album is the follow-up to 2016’s critically acclaimed ‘Distance Inbetween’, which featured singles ‘Miss Fortune’, Holy Revelation’ and ‘Million Eyes’.

Nick Power, The Coral’s keyboardist, has written a new book, ‘Into The Void’, which will be published by Ebacc concurrently with the new album. Powers’ third book, ‘Into The Void’ is an insightful, amusing and evocative first-hand account of the recording, release and touring of ‘Distance Inbetween’, which came after a five-year hiatus for the band.

Since their debut EP release in 2001, The Coral have sold over a million UK albums, with five reaching the Top 10 including 2003’s chart-topping ‘Magic and Medicine’. Their eight Top 40 singles include ‘Dreaming Of You’, ‘In The Morning’, ‘Pass It On’, and ‘Don’t Think You’re The First’.


FRI 5 BIRMINGHAM, O2 Institute
SAT 6 LEEDS, Beckett Students’ Union
FRI 12 LIVERPOOL, University The Mountford Hall
SAT 13 MANCHESTER, Albert Hall

Tickets on general sale 9 am May 18th, with a fan pre-sale from 9 am May 16th. Visit for further details.


May 24 – 27 Bearded Theory Festival, Walton-on-Trent
May 27 Neighbourhood Weekender, Warrington
June 15 Nocturne Live at Blenheim Palace (supporting Noel Gallagher)
August 19 Don Valley Bowl, Sheffield (supporting Ocean Colour Scene)
August 24 – 26 Camper Calling, Alcester
Aug 30 – Sep 1 Electric Fields, Dumfries
Sep 1st Skeleton Coast Festival, Leasowe Castle, Wirral

The Coral ‘Move Through The Dawn’ tracklisting:

1. Eyes Like Pearls
2. Reaching Out For A Friend
3. Sweet Release
4. She's A Runaway
5. Strangers In The Hollow
6. Love Or Solution
7. Eyes Of The Moon
8. Undercover Of The Night
9. Outside My Window
10. Stormbreaker
11. After The Fair

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.