Stereophonics frontman KELLY JONES announces new album & film ‘Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day’

Stereophonics frontman KELLY JONES announces new album & film ‘Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day’ 1
(c) Hans-Peter van Velthoven

Stereophonics frontman Kelly Jones today announces the release of ‘Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day’. Featuring some of Stereophonics’ finest moments reimagined, rearranged and intimately re-recorded by Kelly and his band, all a talented group of multi-instrumentalists at ease interchanging instruments across the album, ‘Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day’ is out on 4th December via Parlophone Records.

Recorded in a variety of locations across the UK in 2019, this carefully curated selection of tracks from one of the UK’s most prolific and successful songwriters hears Kelly pull together the songs that got him through the worst of times, whilst telling stories of how those songs came about. The album gives the audience an honesty, truth and vulnerability not yet heard before. ‘Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day’ was the perfect opportunity for Kelly to step away from the constraints that come with being the rock star and leading the mighty Stereophonics and create something more spontaneous, vulnerable and truly intimate. This album captures one of the finest and most distinctive voices in British rock as he captivates an audience through song, anecdote, laughter and lament, and reconnects with the emotional heart of the songs that have grown with him throughout his career.

‘Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day’ also completes a remarkable personal recovery from Kelly, who whilst touring in 2019 kept a secret from his band, crew and producers – a revelation that had threatened to undermine his career and future music-making. This hitherto untold story is brought to life in the startlingly heartfelt and deeply emotive documentary Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day.

The documentary premieres at ‘The Doc n Roll Festival’ on 4th November, before reaching cinemas around the UK on 27th November via event cinema distributor Trafalgar Releasing. Tickets will be on sale from 5th November at The film will then be available on-demand around the world from 3rd December.

The album’s first offering is also unveiled today, an emotive take on Kris Kristofferson’s ‘Help Me Make It Through The Night’. It’s a song Kelly reminisces about his father singing him when he was a boy – one of many stories from his life that Kelly shares with the audience in this most personal of albums.  Watch the video BELOW:

Speaking on the new documentary, the film’s director, Ben Lowe said, “I’ve been to hundreds of gigs in my life – shooting with my camera or purely as a fan – but I’d never experienced a show quite like Kelly’s on this tour. You recognize there’s something pretty special happening on-stage if the performances, and the stories he was telling between them, can make an audience laugh and cry on the same night.

“I wanted to make this documentary feel as truthful and heartfelt as Kelly’s shows. I knew it would be beautiful to hear these songs in a theatre, but I was really blown away. After the tour when Kelly told me about his first few months of the year, I felt inspired by the courage and honesty of it all.”

‘Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day’ follows the release of Stereophonics’ latest record ‘Kind’, which marked their seventh UK No.1 album. In total, the group have now celebrated 11 Top 10 albums, 24 Platinum Sales Awards, 8.5 million albums sold in the UK alone, 5 BRIT nominations and 1 BRIT Award win.

Watch ‘Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day’ trailer – BELOW:

Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day – album tracklisting;

01. Hurry Up And Wait

02. You’re My Star

03. Suzy

04. Katie

05. I Wanna Get Lost With You

06. Help Me Make It Through The Night

07. I Stopped To Fill My Car Up

08. Before Anyone Knew Our Name

09. Mr Writer

10. Rewind

11. Local Boy In The Photograph

12. Feel

13. Into The World

14. This Life Ain’t Easy (But It’s The One That We All Got)

15. Boy On A Bike

16. No-one’s Perfect

17. Show Me How

18. Maybe Tomorrow

19. Traffic

20. Just Looking

21. Dakota

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.