SEA FEVER share new track ‘De Facto’ from their upcoming debut album 'Folding Lines’ - out August 13th

SEA FEVER share new track ‘De Facto’ from their upcoming debut album 'Folding Lines’ - out August 13th 1
Photo credit: Anthony Harrison

Today, May 21st, Manchester outfit Sea Fever teases more new music with ‘De Facto’, the latest single to be taken from the band's upcoming debut album ‘Folding Lines’ set for release on August 13th. 

The driving indie electronic track follows previous singles ‘Folding Lines’ - Listen to ‘Folding Lines’ here - and ‘Crossed Wires’, released alongside its dystopian video - watch here - and gives another taste of the band’s upcoming debut album. It’s a hypnotic cut that effortlessly blends together sounds that helped define the electronica genre with innovative songwriting.

Talking about the self-produced song, the band says; “It's Sea Fever experimenting with song structures and sounds. We wrote the song with a thumping backbeat and pulsating analogue synth”. “The song is about not being afraid to speak up, voicing your opinion and opening this void,” adds frontman Iwan Gronow.

Sea Fever is a five-piece collective fronted by Iwan Gronow (Haven, Johnny Marr) on vocals and guitars, alongside singer Beth Cassidy (Section 25), the collective also features New Order’s Tom Chapman and Phil Cunningham - with Tom on bass, guitars, synths and programming and Phil on guitars, while powering the band’s pulsing beats is Elliot Barlow.

Sea Fever explains that their coming together as a unit felt inevitable: “We’d wanted to work with each other for ages, so when we finally sat down in the studio, the band just seemed to come together naturally. It felt like we were really free to explore the kinds of music that have always inspired us, we dug right through the record crates of our minds to shape the sound of Sea Fever.”

The result is a debut ten-track album that represents the sound of a band instinctively working together; effortlessly exciting and equally timeless. Including recent singles ‘De Facto’. ‘Crossed Wires’ and ‘Folding Lines’, the full-length will also feature upcoming singles ‘Under Duress’ and ‘Built To Last’.

Fusing intelligent electronics and clanging guitars, underpinned by soaring and hypnotic strings, the band has already picked up early support from the likes of Chris Hawkins on BBC 6 Music.

‘De Facto’ single is out now - listen BELOW:

‘Folding Lines’ Album Tracklisting:

Crossed Wires
Under Duress
Built To Last
Folding Lines
Le Coup
De Facto
The Finder
Programme Your Life

Live Shows
12.08.21 - London Rough Trade East - Tickets for the London show available here.
13.08.21 - Manchester Night & Day Cafe Tickets for the Manchester show are available here.

Folding Lines

‘Folding Lines’ album out on August 13th.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.