SEA FEVER share new single ‘Under Duress’ from their upcoming debut album ‘Folding Lines’

SEA FEVER share new single ‘Under Duress’ from their upcoming debut album ‘Folding Lines’
Credit - Anthony Harrison

Today, July 30th, Manchester outfit Sea Fever shares multi-layered dynamic new cut ‘Under Duress’.  The new cut is taken from their upcoming debut album ‘Folding Lines’ due on October 22nd (CD/DL), with its vinyl version following on October 29th. Ahead of the album release, the band will play a special gig in Manchester at Night & Day Cafe on August 13. Tickets for the Manchester show are available here.

‘Under Duress’ explains the band; “is about unrequited love,” says frontman and guitarist Iwan Gronow. “Lyrically the song is about the constraints of emotions, how your mind can be coerced and work against its own will”. “It feels like an epic musical journey, walking through different landscapes from sunrise to sunset,” adds the band’s multi-instrumentalist Tom Chapman.

Sea Fever is a five-piece collective fronted by Iwan Gronow (Haven, Johnny Marr) on vocals and guitars, alongside singer Beth Cassidy (Section 25), the collective also features New Order’s Tom Chapman and Phil Cunningham – with Tom on bass, guitars, synths and programming and Phil on guitars, while powering the band’s pulsing beats is Elliot Barlow.

Sea Fever explains that their coming together as a unit felt inevitable: “We’d wanted to work with each other for ages, so when we finally sat down in the studio, the band just seemed to come together naturally. It felt like we were really free to explore the kinds of music that have always inspired us, we dug right through the record crates of our minds to shape the sound of Sea Fever.”

The result is a debut ten-track album that represents the sound of a band instinctively working together; effortlessly exciting and equally timeless.

Fusing intelligent electronics and clanging guitars, underpinned by soaring and hypnotic strings, the band has already picked up early support from the likes of Chris Hawkins on BBC 6 Music, Louder Than War, XS Noise, Gigslutz and Music News, among others.

Listen to ‘Under Duress’ – BELOW:

Live Shows

13.08.21 – Manchester Night & Day Cafe – Tickets for the Manchester show are available here.

‘Folding Lines’ Album Tracklisting:
1. Crossed Wires
2. Under Duress
3. Afterthought
4. Built To Last
5. Folding Lines
6. Satellite
7. Le Coup
8. De Facto
9. The Finder
10. Programme Your Life

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.