REVEREND & THE MAKERS release the ‘Best of Reverend & The Makers’ on September 20th

REVEREND & THE MAKERS release the ‘Best of Reverend & The Makers’ on September 20th 1

With six Top 20 albums already under their belts, Sheffield rock’n’roll radicals Reverend and the Makers release the ‘Best of Reverend & The Makers’ through Cooking Vinyl on September 20th 2019. The double vinyl, double CD and Digital download album spans the band’s career so far and includes singles and fan favourites from their debut release ‘Heavyweight Champion Of The World’ to their latest single ‘Black Flowers’. Rounding off both albums are two new songs, especially recorded for this compilation, ‘Elastic Fantastic’ (featuring Rich Westley from The Moonlandingz) described by The Reverend (Jon McClure) as “a fantasy about killing Donald Trump with a bow & arrow” and ‘Te Quiero Pero.’

To coincide with the release Reverend and the Makers have announced nine headline shows for October and an Arena show at Leeds – First Direct Arena supporting Shed Seven on December 7th. Tickets go on general sale at 9:00 am on Friday 24th June. To preorder the album and tickets for the October tour go to

3rd Thursday Nottingham Rock City
4th Friday Portsmouth The Wedgewood Rooms
9th Wednesday London Electric Ballroom
11th Friday Birmingham O2 Institute 2
12th Saturday Norwich Epic Studios
17th Thursday Glasgow Saint Luke’s
18th Friday Newcastle Upon Tyne Newcastles University Students Union
19th Saturday Manchester Academy
25th Friday Sheffield O2 Academy

7th Saturday Leeds First Direct Arena (supporting Shed Seven)

The complete track listing for ‘Best Of Reverend & The Makers’ is:

DISC One ‘Uppers’ (Vinyl & CD)

1. Silence Is Talking
2. Heavyweight Champion Of The World
3. Bandits
4. MDMAzing (Featuring Howard Marks)
5. Shine The Light
6. Bassline
7. Black Widow
8. Makin’ Babies
9. Out Of the Shadows
10.Mr Glassalfempty
11. Hidden Persuaders
12. Open Your Window
13.Elastic Fantastic (Featuring Rich Westley)

DISC Two ‘Downers’ (Vinyl & CD)

14. Hard Times For Dreamers
15. Long Long Time
16. The Beach And The Sea
17. No Soap (In a Dirty War)
18. Monkey See, Monkey Do
19. Sex With The Ex
20. Yes You Do
21. Something To Remember
22. Last To Know
23. Auld Reekie Blues
24. What Goes Around (Acoustic Version)
25. Black Flowers (Radio Edit)
26. Boomerang
27. Te Quiero Pero

Reverend & The Makers

Reverend and the Makers have achieved six UK Top 20 Albums and five Top Five Indie chart singles. Debut album ‘The State of Things’ (2007) included the UK Top Ten single ‘Heavyweight Champion Of the World.’ Second album ‘A French Kiss In The Chaos’ followed in 2009 and saw the band supporting Oasis on their final tour at stadiums across the UK and also a UK tour with fellow Sheffielders Arctic Monkeys. ‘@Reverend Makers’ appeared in 2012 followed by ‘Thirty Two’ (Jon’s age at the time) in 2014. The critically applauded and adored by Noel Gallagher album ‘Mirrors’ was issued in 2015, a year that also saw the band supporting the Courteeners and The Libertines at arenas across the UK and Europe. Reverend and the Makers latest album, ‘Death Of A King’ (2017), was produced by Dave Sanderson and recorded in Thailand, it debuted in the UK album chart at Number 11, their best chart placing since the debut album in 2007.

Reverend & The Makers are Jon McClure, Ed Cosens, Joe Carnall, Laura McClure and Ryan Jenkinson.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.