PUBLIC ENEMY reveals tracklist for new studio album, out September 25th via Def Jam

PUBLIC ENEMY reveals tracklist for new studio album, out September 25th via Def Jam
Credit: Eitan Miskevich

Public Enemy unveils the tracklist for their upcoming album What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down?, revealing a powerful lineup of guests on the legendary group’s first release for Def Jam Recordings in over two decades including Nas, YG, Rapsody, DJ Premier, Black Thought, Questlove, Cypress Hill, Run-DMC, Ice-T, PMD, George Clinton, Daddy-O, Jahi, The Impossebulls, Mark Jenkins, S1Ws Pop Diesel and James Bomb and Mike D and Ad-Rock of Beastie Boys.

The announcement of What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down? and their return to Def Jam — a cultural institution that they helped build — was heralded around the globe last week with the group’s iconic logo projected onto some of the world’s other most iconic cultural institutions including the Eiffel Tower and Moulin Rouge in Paris; Parliament, Marble Arch & Tate Modern Museum in London; and more – watch HERE.

The album is led by the single “Fight the Power: Remix 2020,” reconceptualized by Public Enemy with Nas, Rapsody, Black Thought, YG, Jahi and Questlove for the 2020 BET Awards in June, and officially released as a single along with the album announcement last week. It also includes Public Enemy’s recent single, “State of the Union (STFU),” produced by DJ Premier. The track holds nothing back as it calls out Donald Trump and his destructive reign.

What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down? will be released on September 25th via Def Jam Recordings and is available now for pre-order, along with exclusive Public Enemy merchandise at Today, September 1, Chuck D will answer questions from fans about the album during a Facebook Live session starting at 5:00 pm GMT / 12:00 pm EDT / 9:00 am PDT. Tune in live via

PUBLIC ENEMY - celebrate 30 years with free download of new LP ‘Nothing is Quick in the Desert’


01 – “When The Grid Goes Down” ft. George Clinton

02 – “Grid” ft. Cypress Hill and George Clinton

03 – “State of the Union (STFU)” ft. DJ Premier

04 – “Merica Mirror” ft.. Pop Diesel

05 – “Public Enemy Number Won” ft. Mike D, Ad-Rock, Run-DMC

06 – “Toxic”

07 – “Yesterday Man” ft. Daddy-O

08 – “Crossroads Burning” (Interlude) ft. James Bomb

09 – “Fight The Power: Remix 2020” ft. Nas, Rapsody, Black Thought, Jahi, YG, Questlove

10 – “Beat Them All”

11 – “Smash The Crowd” ft.. Ice-T, PMD

12 – “If You Can’t Join Em Beat Em”

13 – “Go At It” ft. Jahi

14 – “Don’t Look At The Sky” (Interlude) ft. Mark Jenkins

15 – “Rest In Beats” ft. The Impossebulls

16 – “R.I.P. Blackat”

17 – “Closing: I Am Black” ft. Ms. Ariel

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.