PORCUPINE TREE to release deluxe hardback book edition of ‘Deadwing’

Porcupine Tree have announced that they will reissue their 2005 album ‘Deadwing’ in a deluxe hardback book edition for the first time on 3rd March via their own label, Transmission. With three CDs and a bonus Blu-ray disc, this is the complete collection of the album and related material to date.

· Disc 1 (CD): Steven Wilson’s 2018 remaster of Deadwing.

· Disc 2 (CD): B-sides & additional tracks.

· Disc 3 (CD): Over 70 minutes of Deadwing demos, offering a rare insight into the creative process for the album, including several tracks not recorded for the final album.

· Disc 4 (Blu-ray): Featuring the new ‘making of’ documentary Never Stop the Car on a Drive in the Dark, ‘Lazarus’ promo video, Deadwing remastered in 96/24 LPCM stereo, B-sides in 96/24 LPCM stereo, Deadwing album with 4 bonus tracks in 5.1 surround sound mix by Elliot Scheiner and Steven Wilson, and 77-minute Rockpalast, Germany broadcast from 2005.

· Book: A 108-page book is at the heart of this collection, with an in-depth history of the band by Stephen Humphries and rare photographs from Lasse Hoile and the band’s personal archives.

Watch the ‘Deadwing’ Deluxe Edition Trailer – BELOW:

Deadwing was Porcupine Tree’s eighth studio album, first released in 2005 following their breakthrough with In Absentia; it was the second in a run of 3 albums that, for many, represent the pinnacle of the band’s artistic achievements. It also continued their new-found commercial success to become their top-selling record at the time.

Based on a screenplay written by Steven Wilson and director Mike Bennion, about half of the songs were started with a view to being part of the score of that film, but when the film failed to move into the production stage, Wilson instead made them the foundation for the next PT album, with additional material written in collaboration with the other band members.

The album features guest appearances from Adrian Belew (King Crimson), who plays guitar solos on the title track and “Halo”, and Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth), who adds vocal harmonies and a guitar solo to “Arriving Somewhere But Not Here”.

porcupine tree



1. Deadwing [09:46]

2. Shallow [04:17]

3. Lazarus [04:19]

4. Halo [04:39]

5. Arriving Somewhere But Not Here [12:02]

6. Mellotron Scratch [06:57]

7. Open Car [03:44]

8. Start Of Something Beautiful [07:43]

9. Glass Arm Shattering [06:08]


1. Revenant [03:05]

2. So Called Friend [04:49]

3. Shesmovedon [04:55]

4. Mother And Child Divided [05:00]

5. Half Light [06:38]



1. Arriving Somewhere But Not Here (demo) [13:03]

2. Godfearing (demo) [04:57]

3. Lazarus (demo) [04:10]

4. Open Car (demo) [05:08]

5. Vapour Trails (demo) [03:53]

6. Shallow (demo) [04:15]

7. Deadwing (demo) [10:35]

8. Mother And Child Divided (demo) [05:02]

9. Instrumental Demo 1 [05:19]

10. Halo (demo) [04:50]

11. Instrumental Demo 2 [05:23]

12. So Called Friend (demo) [05:01]

13. Glass Arm Jam [04:19]


1. Never Stop the Car on a Drive in the Dark (Deadwing documentary) [54:20]

2. Lazarus (promo video) [04:19]

3. Deadwing (remastered album 96/24 LPCM stereo) [59:37]

4. Deadwing B-sides (96/24 LPCM stereo) [25:25]

5. Deadwing 5.1 surround sound mix (by Elliot Scheiner and SW) [59:37]

6. Intro (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [00:35]

7. Blackest Eyes (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [04:33]

8. Lazarus (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [03:58]

9. Futile (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [02:31]

10. Interview (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [06:02]

11. Mother And Child Divided (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [04:50]

12. So Called Friend (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [05:00]

13. Arriving Somewhere But Not Here (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [12:24]

14. Sound Of Muzak (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [05:06]

15. Interview 2 (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [01:20]

16. Start Of Something Beautiful (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [07:24]

17. Halo (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [05:03]

18. Interview 3 (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [03:35]

19. Radioactive Toy (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [06:05]

20. Trains (Rockpalast WDR TV broadcast) [05:48]

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.