MORCHEEBA share new single ‘The Moon’ taken from upcoming album ‘Blackest Blue’

MORCHEEBA share new single 'The Moon' taken from upcoming album 'Blackest Blue' 1
Credit: Michelle Hayward

Morcheeba shares ‘The Moon’, the third single from the upcoming studio album ‘Blackest Blue’ due May 14th 2021.

Released on a full moon ‘The Moon’ follows on recently released singles ‘Oh Oh Yeah’ and ‘Sounds Of Blue’; the latter released alongside a striking video – watch here – while South London producer, composer and DJ Hector Plimmer took ‘Oh Oh Yeah’ – listen here – for a deeper, chilled, electronic dive with his remix – listen here.

The Moon’ is a cover originally by Irena Žilić, a Croatian singer-songwriter. Ross fell in love with the song when they shared a bill in Zagreb with Irena and asked her permission to cover it. Skye added another verse to it and that is where the album title ‘Blackest Blue’ came from.

Talking about the track, Skye says; “it’s about following the light of the moon and tapping into its powerful luminous energy, harnessing its positivity to escape the depression and darkness.”

Watch ‘The Moon’ – BELOW:

Pioneers of the British music scene, ‘Blackest Blue’ will be the band’s 10th studio album in a discography that spans three decades. 2020 saw Morcheeba unable to tour or perform live, which gave Skye Edwards and Ross Godfrey “time to write songs and really get to hone them,” as Godfrey puts it. “There weren’t so many pressures so we could really take our time getting the songs right,” adds Edwards. The result of this time is a refined 10 track album that fuses previous incarnations and sound of the band – such as downbeat, chill, electro-pop and soul – into one cohesive record that delves into the soul of the band’s genre-mashing musical heritage. As usual, the band didn’t approach the album with any pre-conceptions and instead created an organic journey that represents everything great about Morcheeba.

Edwards’ lyrics are primarily focused on positivity and overcoming personal adversity that lies within. ‘Sounds Of Blue’, is a stunning cut that puts Skye Edward’s sultry vocals to the forefront, floating high above an ethereal backdrop, and touches upon her recent free diving experience in Thailand and “my new found confidence and love of the ocean above and below,” says Edwards.

The album includes features with Duke Garwood (known for his work with Mark Lanegan, amongst others) and Brad Barr (The Slip, The Barr Brothers). “I managed to get hold of him on the phone and asked him to be on our album,” says Godfrey on how they came to collaborate with Barr. “I sent him a rough piano demo I had played and he sent back the bones of ’Say it’s Over’. Skye completed the melody and a lyric and we had a stone-cold breakup song on our hands. It is a real stand out track for me, heavy as a ton.”

Morcheeba’s global reach is impressive, taking them to every corner of the world. Their signature chilled electronic/organic sound has been border-hopping ever since the London-based band emerged as a household name. The past year has been one of introspection for the duo, as they take stock of their renewed global fan base and look forward to being able to play the new album live in the not too distant future. “This was the first time since I was a teenager that I’d spent a year off the road and I enjoyed the tranquillity, although I missed playing my guitar in far off lands,” says Godfrey.

Morcheeba will be back on the road this summer, the band will perform on The Big Feastival’s main stage on Friday, August 27th, with more live dates to be announced.

‘The Moon’ is out now.‘Blackest Blue’ is due May 14th 2021 via Kartel Music Group.

Blackest Blue

Blackest Blue tracklisting:

1) Cut My Heart Out
2) Killed Our Love
3) Sounds Of Blue
4) Say It’s Over
5) Sulphur Soul
6) Oh Oh Yeah
7) Namaste
8) The Moon
9) Falling Skies
10) The Edge Of The World

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.