Leeds sextet TALKBOY release ‘Over & Under’ (EP) on 1st November

Leeds sextet TALKBOY release 'Over & Under' (EP) on 1st November

Shifting between epic moments of joyful indie pop, interspersed with emotional and engaging songwriting, Leeds sextet Talkboy demonstrate their glittering potential in debut EP Over & Under, set for release 1st November via Come Play With Me / LAB Records.

Emerging in late 2018 with euphoric debut cut Mother, the fledgling six-piece have since become one of Yorkshire’s hottest indie prospects, releasing a series of irresistible anthems including the addictive Someone Else For You and melodic Wasting Time, both of which feature on the band’s upcoming EP.

With the influences of contemporaries Alvvays and The Big Moon nestled deep within their blissful sound and earning vast praise throughout the online community (The Line Of Best Fit, Dork, Clash), the group announce the arrival of Over & Under with their rawest piece of songwriting to date in the form of latest single Hollow Spheres.
Detailing the track, they explained: “Hollow Spheres means an awful lot to us.

Basically, it’s the idea that, although it really does feel very bad now, you have to try to understand it won’t be like this forever. It’s inevitable that something will change and one day you will feel something different. Admittedly, it is way easier said than done. Just as a little footnote, if you’re struggling to picture a Hollow Sphere though, imagine a Kinder Surprise without the surprise and I think you’re on the right track”.

With a full summer of festival appearances (The Great Escape, Live At Leeds, Y Not) under their belts, including a raucous slot on the BBC Introducing stage at Reading & Leeds Festivals, Talkboy continue to impress on the live circuit and will heading out on the road throughout November supporting the likes of Honeyblood, Declan Welsh and The Howl & The Hum.

Listen to ‘Hollow Spheres’ – BELOW:

Talkboy’s debut EP Over & Under drops, 1st November via Come Play With Me* / LAB Records and will be available on all digital platforms, with a physical release (featuring bonus acoustic tracks) to follow 29th November.

Over & Under (EP)
1 – Wasting Time
2 – Someone Else For You
3 – Mother
4 – Over & Under
5 – All Works Out
6 – Hollow Spheres

Live Dates

01 Nov – Café Totem, Sheffield (w/ Declan Welsh)

02 Nov – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds (w/ Honeyblood)

10 Nov – Fulford Arms, York

11 Nov – Jimmy’s, Manchester (w/ Declan Welsh)

13 Nov – Jimmy’s, Liverpool (w/ The Howl & The Hum)

17 Nov – The Adelphi, Hull (w/ The Howl & The Hum)

19 Nov – The Exchange, Bristol (w/ The Howl & The Hum)

20 Nov – The Grace, London (w/ Abbie Ozard)

Talkboy is Katie Heap (vocals), Calum Juniper (vocals), Tim Malkin (guitar), Charlotte Jones (keys), Tom Sargent (bass), Jake Greenway (drums)

*Come Play With Me is supported using public funding by Arts Council England

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.