INTERVIEW: Future Islands frontman Samuel T. Herring on new album 'People Who Aren't There Anymore'

Future Islands
© Frank Hamilton

In episode #156 of The XS Noize Podcast, Mark Millar meets Future Islands frontman Samuel T. Herring to discuss their new album, People Who Aren't There Anymore, released on 26 January 2024.

The seventh album from the band - Samuel T. Herring (vocals, lyrics), William Cashion (bass, guitars), Gerrit Welmers (keyboards, programming), and Michael Lowry (drums) - follows 2020's As Long As You Are. People Who Aren't There Anymore heralds a new chapter for Future Islands, who continue to challenge themselves and each other despite having formed nearly two decades ago.

Where they've pursued ever-higher energy anthems in the past, they've turned inward this time and unlocked a new level of ferocity, delivering some of their most inspiring and most heart-breaking tracks by doing the opposite: taking their time, making each breath, each syllable, each cymbal crash count. The result is a powerful, defining statement from a group of musicians who have made the best album of their career.

In this interview, Samual T Herring talks about the writing and recording of the album, that excellent Letterman performance, navigating loss and resilience and lots more. Listen to episode #156 of The XS Noize Podcast with Samuel T. Herring – BELOW:

Previous XS Noize Podcast guests have been Peter FramptonJohn LydonNick HeywardSteven WilsonMatt GossBilly NomatesTom MeighanToyah Wilcox, Midge UreTravis, New OrderThe KillersTito JacksonSimple Minds, Divine ComedyShaun RyderGary NumanSleaford ModsThe Brand New Heavies.

Listen via YouTube | Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Stitcher | RSS – Find The XS Noize Music Podcast's complete Archive of episodes here.


Future Islands – People Who Aren't There Anymore
26 January 2024

1. King of Sweden
2. The Tower
3. Deep In The Night
4. Say Goodbye
5. Give Me The Ghost Back
6. Corner Of My Eye
7. The Thief
8. Iris
9. The Fight
10. Peach
11. The Sickness
12. The Garden Wheel


Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as hosting interviews for the weekly XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.