FATHERSON share new single ‘Charm School’ – Listen Now

FATHERSON Announce New Album And Share New Single

Fatherson today share new single Charm School, taken from their forthcoming album Sum Of All Your Parts out on September 14th. The second track to be taken from the album, Charm School – first played on Annie Mac’s Radio 1 Show – is, according to the band, “An observation on having to mind your p’s and q’s all the time – and the need to jump through hoops for other people. A charm school is an elocution school where people are taught manners above all else – which might be a little unrealistic for real life”.

Forming in Kilmarnock, Scotland, in early 2010, Fatherson immediately captured hearts with their raw, honest alt-rock sound. Inspired by Scottish stoicism as much as their own personal turmoil, debut album I Am An Island and its 2016 follow-up Open Book were masterclasses in full-throttle rock songwriting, and garnered support from (and tours alongside) their north-of-the-border brethren in Biffy Clyro, Frightened Rabbit, Idlewild and Twin Atlantic, as well as further runs alongside the likes of Kings Of Leon, Augustines, Enter Shikari and more. Open Book jumped straight in at No.2 in the Scottish album charts as well as performing strongly in the U.K. Other recent highlights include packing a 12,000 person tent at T in the Park.

A no-bullshit, heart-on-sleeve approach is integral to the band’s new sound. Where before, Leighton (vocals) admits to masking his thoughts and feelings behind metaphor and anecdote, this time around he pulled back the comfort blanket. “I think this is the first attempt at being a bit more specific, lyrically,” he says. “I was listening to a lot of Frank Ocean, who’s very specific with his lyrics, even though it’s very ambiguous. You might never know what it actually meant, but you can extrapolate something that’s a bit more personal. It’s less of a generalisation on the whole – it’s like, ‘I feel like this about this, and you can understand it or you can not’.

Recorded live and in chronological sequence with Claudius Mittendorfer (Arctic Monkeys, Interpol, Weezer), Sum Of All Your Parts fizzes with a youthful energy, reinvigorating the group from the get-go. “A big part of this process was trying to capture that feeling of when you play a song together for the first time, and you look at each other in the face and get that smile that you can’t get rid of,” explains Walkinshaw. “We weren’t so concerned about some of the pop sensibilities – it’s a little bit more raw, and a little bit more loose, and a bit funner, at points.”

Harking back to the innocence and innovation of those early days, while taking confident strides forward, the result is Sum Of All Your Parts – a record that finds Fatherson reborn.

Listen to ‘Charm School’ – BELOW:

Live dates:

02 Oct – Belfast, Voodoo
03 Oct – Dublin, Whelans
04 Oct – Leeds, Hyde Park Book Club
05 Oct – Manchester, Night People
06 Oct – Birmingham, Sunflower Lounge
08 Oct – Nottingham, Rock City
09 Oct – London, Scala
10 Oct – Norwich, Waterfront Studio
11 Oct – Brighton, Patterns
28 Oct – Newcastle University
02 Nov – Glasgow, Barrowland


Fatherson are: Ross Leighton – Guitar/Vocals, Marc Strain – Bass, Greg Walkinshaw – Drums

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.