WILL YOUNG covers Bat For Lashes on new single, from album of songs by his favourite female artists 'CRYING ON THE BATHROOM FLOOR'

WILL YOUNG covers Bat For Lashes on new single, from album of songs by his favourite female artists 'CRYING ON THE BATHROOM FLOOR' 1

“I’ve always enjoyed singing other people’s songs. There is a liberation to it. It’s how I feel when I approach a script. I have reverence for the piece of art and the artist who created it”, says Will Young of his new album, Crying On The Bathroom Floor, set for release on August 6 2021 (via Cooking Vinyl).

“After 18 years of recording and performing a lot of original material, I loved the idea of creating an album that celebrates some of the modern female artists I so admire in pop. In today’s times it’s so much easier and accepted to occupy other genders, ideas and explore new avenues. I wanted to understand what it might be like to sing their lyrics; a song about a boy called Daniel; crying on the bathroom floor, feeling like Elizabeth Taylor. This is not a covers album as such, well certainly not in the standard way. I wanted to bring songs from female artists who I admire into a new arena. I wanted to work with Richard X again and create a true pop record.”

‘Daniel’, an interpretation of the Bat For Lashes classic, is the first single to be heard from the brand new album which will also feature re-imagined versions of songs by the likes of Lykke Li, MUNA, Robyn, Solange, Sky Ferreira and more. The track is accompanied by an official video directed by the renowned Andrew John ‘W.I.Z.’ Whiston (Disclosure, Mika, Kings Of Leon).

Watch the video for Daniel - BELOW:

Crying On The Bathroom Floor album tracklisting:

1. Daniel (original by Bat For Lashes)

2. Crying On The Bathroom Floor (original by MUNA)

3. Till There’s Nothing Left (original by Cam)

4. Indestructible (original by Robyn)

5. Strong (original by London Grammar)

6. I Follow Rivers (original by Lykke Li)

7. Everything Is Embarrassing (original by Sky Ferreira)

8. Losing You (original by Solange)

9. Missing (original by Everything But The Girl)

10. Elizabeth Taylor (original by Clare Maguire)

Crying on the Bathroom Floor follows Will’s 2019 No.2 charting album Lexicon (also produced by Richard X), his 11 x Top 10 singles, 4 x No.1 singles and 7 x Top 3 albums (with four of those albums hitting No.1).

An activist, author, singer, songwriter, radio presenter, DJ and performer, Will recently released To Be A Gay Man through Penguin Books; discussing gay shame, revealing the impact it had on his own life, how he learned to deal with it, and how he can now truthfully say he is gay and happy. The paperback version of the book is due to be released on April 29.

This September, Will embarks on a series of intimate live shows, performing several of the new tracks alongside classic songs acoustically and chatting with audiences across the country. Fans can pre-order the new album now for an exclusive ticket pre-sale on Wednesday 28 April. For more information visit Will’s Official Store.

2021 UK Tour dates

Wednesday 1st September Cardiff Glee Club

Thursday 2nd September Glasgow St Luke’s

Sunday 5th September Leeds City Varieties

Monday 6th September London Earth

Tuesday 7th September London Earth

Wednesday 8th September Birmingham Glee Club

Crying On The Bathroom Floor,

Crying On The Bathroom Floor will be released on Cooking Vinyl on August 6 on CD, LP, cassette and digitally with signed and exclusive bundles also available.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.