UNLOVED Announce details of their second album, ‘Heartbreak’ and December show at the Hoxton Hall, London.

UNLOVED Announce details of their second album, ‘Heartbreak’ and December show at the Hoxton Hall, London.

Unloved, whose music is currently sound-tracking the hit BBC series ‘Killing Eve’, have announced details of their second full-length album, Heartbreak, which is released on Heavenly Recordings on Friday 1st February 2019.

Made up of vocalist and songwriter Jade Vincent, her partner the producer/composer Keefus Ciancia, and the DJ and producer/composer David Holmes, the track listing of Heartbreak is as follows:

  1. Heartbreak
  2. Remember
  3. Love
  4. (SIGH)
  5. Bill
  6. Devil’s Angels
  7. Lee
  8. Danger
  9. Fail We May, Sail We Must
  10. Love Lost
  11. Crash Boom Bang
  12. Boy And Girl
  13. If

The album can be pre-ordered via the following link – http://heavenlyemporium.com/buy/heartbreak-34/ – and all pre-orders receive Crash Boom Bang, the latest track to be taken from the album, as an instant grat. Talking about the track, Jade Vincent said:

It’s about the devastation of a kind of struggle that brings you to your knees, feeling the waves crashing, the tide of emotional distress pulling, pulling you under to the point where you think you’ll drown, against the will, against all reason —  but I didn’t.  Surrender – Jay Bellerose traced a staggering heart; Acceptance, forgiveness.  Strength – rendered in the force of musical ingenuity by Keefus, by David, Jimmy had a key, into some kind of wonder woman facing adversity, braced – BOOM – Overcome – BANG!  And now I like to think of it as a reassurance, cause it happens, yes? – but it’ll be alright.  Scars to prove it, but it’ll be alright

A rich, deep album possessing a sound at once hauled out of the silty depths of the past, and simultaneously wholly modern, the heart of the songs lie in Vincent’s sublime voice and lyrics, both possessed of an aching, rich-smoked tone. Very much about love, Heartbreak is more emotionally exposed, more musically, lyrically, and vocally audacious than it’s predecessor

“There’s a maturity to Jade’s voice and a maturity to the songs that sound like this is someone who’s lived, and properly had her heart broken, and is full of love,” says Holmes.

“I felt a little more confident in my stride with this album,” Vincent adds. “I let myself completely go lyrically — and vocally as well. I would sometimes laugh at myself, about where I would go. I’d go high into the world of opera and come back in low. I just threw myself into it and felt uninhibited. It was freeing. And I kept layering, to get to as many emotions as possible.  It was like painting: I was layering to add to the immense, vastly wild landscape of music given me from Keefus and David.”

“They’re real feelings and real experiences that I had the guts to finally say, but always ambiguous, this is very important to me.” she explains, “and always about love, one way or another.”

The debut live performance of the album will take place on December 3rd & 5th 2018 at Hoxton Hall in London and further live dates for 2019 will be announced shortly.

Tickets for the London show are on sale now and are available via


In the meantime, the band have provided the songs for Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s acclaimed new series Killing Eve, which started airing on the BBC on September 15th this year. The series has already aired in the U.S. where Sandra Oh has received an Emmy nomination for her lead role.

Listen to ‘Crash Boom Bang’ BELOW:

The story of Unloved begins in a late-night Hollywood bar in 2015, The Rotary Room, where Ciancia – known for his collaborations with T-Bone Burnett, including the soundtrack to True Detective, and his unprecedented project with Jeff Bridges, Sleeping Tapes, among others – and Vincent, held a long-running music salon at which their fellow musicians could experiment and collaborate.

Inviting Holmes over to DJ at the club, the trio discovered a shared love for 60s’ girl groups and French pop and film noir soundtracks, Brigitte Fontaine, Shuggie Otis, George ‘Shadow’ Morton, Bruno Nicolai, Lee Hazlewood and Jack Nitzsche, along with a tremendous desire to work together.

Holmes, renowned as one of the world’s most innovative, inquisitive and ingenious DJs, alongside being a hugely respected soundtrack composer who has provided scores for Steven Soderbergh’s Out of Sight, Ocean’s Eleven, Twelve and Thirteen, HBO series Mosaic, Steve McQueen’s Hunger, and BBC series The Fall and London Spy, also ran his own club, God’s Waiting Room, in his native Belfast.

Like the Rotary Room for Ciancia and Vincent, God’s Waiting Room was a place for Holmes to explore music and film and to invite thrilling artists to play — Jane Weaver, Jarvis Cocker, Andy Weatherall amongst others – so it was inevitible the trio would end up collaborating, a union which very quickly blossomed and saw the the recording and release of their stunning debut album Guilty Of Love in the spring of 2016.



Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.