TEENAGE FANCLUB announce vinyl reissues and ‘Creation Records Years’ tour

TEENAGE FANCLUB announce vinyl reissues and 'Creation Records Years' tour

Having long been out of print, Teenage Fanclub have announced details of the vinyl re-release of five of their classic Creation Records albums – Bandwagonesque, Thirteen, Grand Prix, Songs From Northern Britain and Howdy!

Released on Friday 10th August 2018 through Sony Music, each album has been re-mastered for the first time from the original tapes, at Abbey Road Studios, London under the guidance of the band, Norman Blake, Gerard Love, and Raymond McGinley. They will be packaged in faithful re-productions of the original vinyl artwork and available on heavyweight 180g single vinyl.

The band have also selected rarities, favourites and tracks previously unavailable on vinyl to include on a 7” with each album. These 7” singles will each feature two tracks and will only be available with the initial pressing of each album.

Additionally, the band have announced details of very special three night runs of shows in Glasgow, Manchester, Birmingham and London where they will be playing songs from different eras on each night, these will include songs never previously performed live by the band – a limited number of ‘season tickets’ for entry to all three gigs will be available in each city.

The ‘Songs From Teenage Fanclub’ tour will see them play songs from 91-93 on ‘Night 1’, from 94-97 on ‘Night 2’ and from 98-00 on ‘Night 3’. Tickets go on sale on April 27th.

The full list of dates is as follows:

Oct 28 / 29 / 30 – Glasgow, ABC

Nov 05 / 06 / 07 – Manchester, Academy 3

Nov 09 / 10 / 11 – Birmingham, Institute

Nov 13 / 14 / 15 – London, Electric Ballroom

For more info, visit: www.teenagefanclub.com

The track listings of the album’s are as follows:


1. The Concept

2. Satan

3. December

4. What You Do To Me

5. I Don’t Know

6. Star Sign

7. Metal Baby

8. Pet Rock

9. Sidewinder

10. Alcoholiday

11. Guiding Star

12. Is This Music?

Bonus 7”

1. Heavy Metal 6 – taken from ‘The King’

2. Long Hair – b-side from ‘The Concept’


1. Hang On

2. The Cabbage

3. Radio

4. Norman 3

5. Song To The Cynic

6. 120 Mins

7. Escher

8. Commercial Alternative

9. Fear Of Flying

10. Tears Are Cool

11. Ret Liv Dead

12. Get Funky

13. Gene Clark

Bonus 7”

1. Country Song – previously unreleased

2. Eyes Wide Open – from ‘One In Four’ compilation, first time on vinyl.


1. About You

2. Sparky’s Dream

3. Mellow Doubt

4. Don’t Look Back

5. Verisimilitude

6. Neil Jung

7. Tears

8. Discolite

9. Say No

10. Going Places

11. I’ll Make It Clear

12. I Gotta Know

13. Hardcore / Ballad

Bonus 7”

1. Every Step Is A Way Through – ‘Neil Jung’ b-side, first time on vinyl

2. Some People Try To Fuck With You – ‘Mellow Doubt’ b-side


1. Start Again

2. Ain’t That Enough

3. Can’t Feel My Soul

4. I Don’t Want Control Of You

5. Planets

6. It’s A Bad World

7. Take The Long Way Round

8. Winter

9. I Don’t Care

10. Mount Everest

11. Your Love Is The Place Where I Come From

12. Speed Of Light

Bonus 7”

1. Middle Of The Road – ‘I Don’t Want Control Of You’ b-side, first time on vinyl

2. Broken – ‘Ain’t That Enough’ b-side, first time on vinyl


1. I Need Direction

2. I Can’t Find My Way Home

3. Accidental Life

4. Near You

5. Happiness

6. Dumb Dumb Dumb

7. The Town And The City

8. The Sun Shines From You

9. Straight And Narrow

10. Cul De Sac

11. My Uptight Life

12. If I Never See You Again

Bonus 7”

1. Thaw Me – ‘Dumb Dumb Dumb’ b-side, first time on vinyl

2. One Thousand Lights – ‘Dumb Dumb Dumb’ b-side, first time on vinyl

Over the course of the nine years in which they released Bandwagonesque, Thirteen, Grand Prix, Songs From Northern Britain and Howdy!, Teenage Fanclub went from being scrappy indie underdogs, through band-most-likely-to, eventually arriving at the status they’ve held ever since: one of Britain’s most beloved cult bands.

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.