SMITH & BURROWS share new single ‘Parliament Hill’ – Listen Now!

SMITH & BURROWS share new single ‘Parliament Hill’ - Listen Now! 2

Editors frontman and multi-instrumentalist Tom Smith and multi-faceted musician and songwriter Andy Burrows today share ‘Parliament Hill’, the second track to be revealed from their collaborative new album Only Smith & Burrows Is Good Enough, due for release 19 February 2021 via [PIAS].

‘Parliament Hill’, is an uplifting bittersweet paean to London – a hymn to romance and the spaces and places it plays out and its portrayal is ever more poignant with both writers having left the city in the past year. It depicts aspects of both their lives whilst sharing connective tissue with When The Thames Froze from their debut album, and not just for geographical reasons.

As Smith says; “it’s a beautiful song for now, when we’re all craving connection to people and places. It encapsulates a real, still moment and is my favourite song on the album”

Listen to Smith & Burrows – ‘Parliament Hill’ – BELOW:

The new album reunites the pair some ten years after its predecessor Funny Looking Angels and despite the time-lapse, the pair have continued to write and demo various tracks for its follow-up whilst working on their own projects. Multi-instrumentalist Smith fronting stadium dwelling Editors whilst the similarly multi-facetted Burrows has added soundtrack and film assignments to an already varied CV.

A truly collaborative affair, Only Smith & Burrows Is Good Enough sees both musicians writing and fulfilling instrumental duties. Whilst nurtured and written in the UK, the pair decamped to Nashville hooking up with Grammy Award-winning producer Jacquire King (Tom Waits, Norah Jones, Kings Of Leon) to record the album over a six week period experiencing not only an extreme heatwave but satisfying their combined love of whisky and vintage guitars. Tough gig!

Carefully written, lovingly finessed and warmly produced the resultant collection of songs;

“is the most idyllic musical getaway I could have ever dreamed of” says Burrows with Smith adding that “I never thought this second album would not happen. It has its own force which is the power of our collaborative writing and voices.”

Only Smith & Burrows Is Good Enough

Track List

1. All The Best Moves

2. Buccaneer Rum Jum

3. Spaghetti

4. Old TV Shows

5. Parliament Hill

6. Bottle Tops

7. I Want You Back In My Life

8. Aimee Move On

9. Too Late

10. Straight Up Like A Mohican

Smith & Burrows new LP “Only Smith & Burrows Is Good Enough” is due for release 5 February via [PIAS] Recordings.

Pre-Order “Only Smith & Burrows”

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.