LOW announce new album HEY WHAT and world tour – Hear first single ‘Days Like These’

LOW announce new album HEY WHAT and world tour - Hear first single 'Days Like These' 1
Credit: Nathan Keay

HEY WHAT, the astonishing new LOW album, will be released worldwide on 10th September 2021 via Sub Pop Records. In anticipation of the new album, the beloved group is sharing “Days Like These”; the first single and video, helmed by their longtime friend and director, Karlos Rene Ayala. 

HEY WHAT is Low’s thirteenth full-length release in twenty-seven years, and their third with producer BJ Burton. The new album finds the group focusing on their craft, staying out of the fray, and holding fast their faith to find new ways to express the discord and delight of being alive, to turn the duality of existence into hymns we can share.

These ten pieces—each built around their own instantaneous, undeniable hook—are turbocharged by the vivid textures that surround them. The ineffable, familiar harmonies of Alan Sparhawk and Mimi Parker break through the chaos like a life raft. Layers of distorted sound accrete with each new verse – building, breaking, colossal then restrained, a solemn vow only whispered. There will be time to unravel and attribute meaning to the music and art of these times, but the creative moment looks FORWARD, with teeth.

You can watch “Days Like These” – BELOW:

HEY WHAT is the band’s first release since Double Negative, one of the best-reviewed albums of 2018, with year-end honors from Uncut (#1), The Guardian, MOJO, NPR, Vulture, The Wire, and more. The album also earned “Best of the Decade: 2010s” placement from Aquarium Drunkard, Brooklyn Vegan, Pitchfork, and Stereogum.

LOW has announced a 30 date world tour with North American shows beginning in March 2022, with UK & European dates to follow in April / May. See below for a full list of UK & Ireland shows.

LOW UK & Ireland dates
25 April – Edinburgh, Queen’s Hall
26 April – Dublin, Vicar Street
27 April – Manchester, Manchester Cathedral
28 April – Brighton, St. George’s Church
29 April – London, St. John at Hackney Church
30 April – Bristol, Trinity


LOW HEY WHAT tracklisting
1. White Horses
2. I Can Wait
3. All Night
4. Disappearing
5. Hey
6. Days Like These
7. There’s a Comma After Still
8. Don’t Walk Away
9. More
10. The Price You Pay (It Must Be Wearing Off)

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.