BLUR – unveil lyric video for ‘Go Out’ – watch

BLUR - unveil lyric video for 'Go Out' - watch

Blur will return on April 27th with The Magic Whip, the band’s first new album in 12 years. The Magic Whip marks the band’s eighth album to date and first since 2003’s Think Tank. The news is especially surprising given Damon Albarn’s recent proclamation that he was “in the process of reactivating” Gorillaz for a new studio album in 2016.

As recently as July 2014, Albarn downplayed the prospects of a new Blur album, explaining that a recording session in Hong Kong ended prematurely due to the weather. “Sometimes, if you can’t do it all at once, it dissipates really and I don’t know what I’d sing about now with that record,” Albarn explained. “There’s some great tunes on there, but it may just be one of those records that never comes out.”

The recordings, which began during a five-day break in touring in Spring 2013 – at Avon Studios in Kowloon, Hong Kong – were put aside when the group finished touring and returned to their respective lives.

Last November, Graham Coxon revisited the tracks and, drafting in Blur’s early producer Stephen Street, he worked with the band on the material. Albarn then added lyrics and the 12 tracks of The Magic Whip are the result.


Blur-The Magic whip


The above image was teased in The Sun, who claimed it’s the sleeve to a new album from a “massive band, more than a decade after their last full studio release.” They also added their last album was released in the Chinese Year of the Goat – that’s 2003, the year the band unleashed ‘Think Tank’ on the world. There’s been tonnes of speculation online the text on the sleeve translates roughly in Mandarin to “Blur magic whip”.

Magic Whip Tracklist:
01. Lonesome Street
02. New World Towers
03. Go Out
04. Ice Cream Man
05. Thought I Was A Spaceman
06. I Broadcast
07. My Terracotta Heart
08. There Are Too Many Of Us
09. Ghost Ship
10. Pyongyang
11. Ong Ong
12. Mirrorball

Watch lyric video for new track ‘Go Out BELOW:

Blur – Go Out (Lyrics) on MUZU.TV.

Fans can pre-order the album HERE and get the track ‘Go Out’ instantly

Xsnoize Author
Mark Millar is the founder of XS Noize and looks after the daily running of the website as well as conducting interviews for the XS Noize Podcast. Mark's favourite album is Achtung Baby by U2.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.